Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Philippine Teams Finalised

It's official. We've just heard from Bobby Ang that the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) has finally formalised the RP men's and women's squads for the 2008 Dresden Olympiad. The men's side will be IM John Paul Gomez, GM Wesley So, GM Buenaventura Villamayor, GM Jayson Gonzales and GM Darwin Laylo.

On the distaff side, recent Sydney visitor Catherine Perena will spearhead the attack and she will be joined by Shercila Cua, Daisy Rivera, Chardine Cheradee Camacho and Christy Lamiel Bernales. With a largely inexperienced lineup, the women will likely find it hard to emulate their counterpart's exploits in Turin (only Perena remains from that 2006 team).

After all that, you'd think that any other question marks about team composition have all been answered. However, one of our sources in RP mentions in passing that Pinoy legend Eugene Torre could yet find himself on the men's team if the NCFP caves in to his request to be included in the 5-man lineup. Well, our view is, let's have none of that nonesense! Legend or not, and with great respect to the fellow, stay home brother.

UPDATE @ 12PM, 14 Jul: Now confirmed. Eugene Torre and Rogelio Antonio are out of Olympiad team.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Amen to that TCG. Fair is fair. Show me the money, pardon the pun, those were the days of Campo.

Rather, show me your talent and hard work and you will play. This my friends are the days now of Pichay's leadership.

If there is a 6th player, it is GM Mark Paragua.

We look forward to our your chess stars. You have our hearts and our best wishes.